• Seilevel Team

    Here’s the Team

    Welcome to our Seilevel Photo Op.

Some Business Analyst Certification Opportunities

With the heavily influential role that business analysts play in software development, it is worth investigating the opportunities for certification. Here is a short list to get you thinking of where to start when searching for a program that best recognizes your skills.

The International Institute of Business Analysis offers two certification programs:

Certification of Competency in Business AnalysisTM(CCBA®) is a professional certification for business analyst practitioners. The coverage areas include:

  • Business Analysis Planning and Monitoring
  • Elicitation
  • Enterprise Analysis
  • Requirements Analysis
  • Solution Assessment and Validation
  • Requirements Management and Communication

The requirements at a glance are:

  • 3750 hours of business analyst experience in the last 7 years
  • 900 hours in 2 out of 6 knowledge areas or 500 hours in 4 out of 6 knowledge areas
  • 21 hours career development in the last 4 years

Certified Business Analysis ProfessionalTM(CBAP®) is a professional certification for experienced business analysts. While the coverage areas remain the same, the requirements increase to:

  • 7500 hours of business analyst experience in the last 10 years
  • 900 hours in 4 out of 6 knowledge areas
  • 21 hours career development in the last 4 years

Skills Framework for the Information Age is a simple and logical two-dimensional framework consisting of areas of work on one axis and levels of responsibility on the other. This framework, from the UK-based SFIA Foundation, details the areas of work as follows:

  • Strategy & architecture
  • Business change
  • Solution development & implementation
  • Service management
  • Procurement & management support
  • Client interface

SFIA recognises seven levels of professional skill. The levels range from 1 at basic entry to 7 at a very senior level, normally in a large organization.

The Australian Institute of Business Analysis (AIBA) provides individuals with a personalised learning and development pathway. They offer accreditation that covers:

  • Translation & Communication
  • Analysis & Improvement
  • Definition & Redefinition
  • Creativity & Innovation

The accreditation is segmented into 9 levels of varying experience. Although this is mainly recognized in Australia, it still holds core principles that are applicable internationally.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *